Gabriela Bolaños

  • WTS Ranking: no ranking
  • Represents: Guatemala GUA
  • Follow Gabriela:

Full Stats

Given NameGabriela
Family NameBolaños
Place of BirthGuatemala
Height161 cm
CoachLance Watson
HobbiesOutside of triathlon, I\'m currently studying to be a dietician. I also enjoy cooking, dancing, yoga, and any outdoor activities.
Race Starts17
Race Wins1
Race Podiums2
See All


My brother and I started triathlon when we were very young. Even though my parents never really did triathlon or any sport, they have always supported us every single step of the way. I started swimming at the age of 3, did my first tri when I was 7, but didn’t actually get into triathlon until I was 14, when I wanted to mix things up a little and challenge myself with three different sports. The people who have had the most influence on my sporting career are my family and my first triathlon coach, Rafael Pino from Cuba.

I live and train in Victoria, Canada,  and a typical training week for me consists of 6 hours of swimming, 10 hours of biking, and 4 hours of running. My personal best swim (1500m) time is 20 minutes, bike (40km) is 1:10, and run (10km) is 40:03. My favorite ITU race is anything technical and challenging, like the courses at Roatan or Honduras. I participated in the ITU Triathlon Development camp in Australia.

The biggest obstacle that I’ve overcome is moving away from home at a young age to train and live in Victoria, but it is also the greatest experience. My triathlon goals are to place in the top ten at the Budapest Junior World Championship, to get a medal in the Central American and Caribbean Games, place top ten in the Pan-American Games, London 2012, and Rio 2016.

Something that the triathlon world doesn’t know about me is that I’m really stubborn, and when I get my mind fixed on something, there is nobody and nothing that can change it.

Read More